Pennies in a Jar – Nikki Jean

Remember Nikki Jean?


Just received word that she’ll be releasing her album entitled, “Pennies in a Jar”, this upcoming Tuesday, July 12, 2011.

Nikki Jean would travel cross-country, working on songs with collaborators who would top any list of the greatest songwriters of all time. The plan was inspired, but also wild and improbable. Who could imagine that a new artist, still in her early 20s, could reach out to a wish list of Hall of Fame songwriters, and that so many would say yes?

What emerged is a compact musical history: the girl group sound, Motown, Classic Pop, Philly Soul, a place where Country literally meets Hip-Hop. Linked by Nikki Jean’s warmth and her infectious joy. The challenge was to take these diverse influences, this geographical and musical range, and make it flow. ‘PENNIES IN A JAR’ accomplishes this beautifully.

Track Listing:

  1. How to Unring a Bell
  2. Steel and Feathers (Don’t Ever)
  3. La Di Da Di Da
  4. My Love
  5. Pennies in a Jar
  6. What’s a Girl Supposed to Do
  7. Rockaway
  8. Million Star Motel (Ft. Black Thought & Lupe Fiasco)
  9. Patty Crash
  10. China
  11. Mercy of Love
  12. Sex, Lies and Sunshine

You may pre-order it now on iTunes & ((, in the time of writing, has sample-snippets of her album online via the MP3 version.)).

Support good music!